BENDIGO: Print

 

Bendigo Cemetery Trust: http://www.bencemtrust.com.au/ [December 2004]

 

White Hills Cemetery and Registers: http://www.bencemtrust.com.au/cemeteries.asp?id=20 [July 2008]

Corner of Holdsworth Road and Plumridge Street, White Hills/ "The White Hills Cemetery was originally known as the Junction Cemetery. In 1854 it was officially opened, however it had to be used as a cemetery well before this date. Once gold was discovered at the seven White Hills, the area was inundated with optimistic diggers. ... The initial burials took place without registration, therefore the first person buried at the White Hills Cemetery is not known. ...  The original entrance pillars and gates designed by Vahland; a unique Victorian style rotunda; ... The White Hills Public Cemetery is one of several cemeteries in the Bendigo urban area. It is regarded as significant because it is a substantially intact example of a mid nineteenth century gold-fields cemetery. The cemetery lies in a picturesque setting of curved pathways and has a number of significant and rare plantings. ... The original cemetery was about ten acres but today comprises some twenty four acres." - Bendigo Cemetery Trust website For research and all other queries: 5 Victoria Street, Eaglehawk, 3556 or PO Box 268, Eaglehawk, 3556. Telephone: (03) 5446 1566 Facsimile: (03) 5446 9958 Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it [December 2004]