You are here: Home Africa Tanzania, formerly Tanganyika & Zanzibar
Tanzania, formerly Tanganyika & Zanzibar

Union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar  (both formerly British). Tanganyika (with Burundi and Rwanda) was German East Africa prior to WW1.

United Republic of Tanzania (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania)   in central East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south, and the Indian Ocean on the east. Since 1996, the official capital of Tanzania is Dodoma, but between independence and 1996 the major coastal city of Dar es Salaam had been the country's political capital and remains the principal commercial city  de-facto seat of most government institutions. It also is the major seaport for the country and its landlocked neighbors. [August 2009]


Wherever There Is Coca-Cola, There Are Jews. [August 2009]


Title Filter     Display # 
# Burial Location
1 Nyabeya: see Tengeru
Web site created by Open Sky Web Design based on a template by Red Evolution