You are here: Home Africa Equatorial Guinea, formerly Spanish Guinea
Equatorial Guinea, formerly Spanish Guinea


formerly Spanish Guinea (Rio Muni and Fernando Po & Annobón)

(Spanish: República de Guinea Ecuatorial; French: République de Guinée Équatoriale; Portuguese: República da Guiné Equatorial) is located in Central Africa. The population is estimated at half a million. Equatorial Guinea has two parts: a Continental Region (Río Muni) including several small offshore islands like Corisco, Elobey Grande and Elobey Chico and an Insular Region containing Annobón island and Bioko island (formerly Fernando Po) where the capital Malabo is situated. Annobón is the southernmost island of Equatorial Guinea and is situated just south of the equator. Bioko island is the northernmost point of Equatorial Guinea. Between the two islands and to the east is the mainland region. Equatorial Guinea is bordered by Cameroon on the north, Gabon on the south and east, and the Gulf of Guinea on the west, where the island nation of São Tomé and Príncipe is located between Bioko and Annobón. Spanish is an official language especially in Ceuta and Melilla.

Title Filter     Display # 
# Burial Location
Web site created by Open Sky Web Design based on a template by Red Evolution