--Bohemia: South Bohemian Region (Czech: Jihočeský kraj)-- Print
South Bohemian Region (Czech: Jihočeský kraj) is an administrative unit (kraj) of the Czech Republic, located mostly in the southern part of its historical land of Bohemia, with a small part in southwestern Moravia. West part of South Bohemian Region is former Prachens (Prácheňsko), an huge archaic region with distinctive features with its capital, Písek. The region borders (from the west clockwise) the regions Plzeň, Central Bohemia, Vysocina and South Moravia. To the south it borders Austria and Germany. The region was named as Budějovický kraj or Českobudějovický kraj (after its capital České Budějovice) until May 30, 2001.

The highest elevation in the region is the 1,378-metre (4,520 ft) high Plechý in the Bohemian Forest, the lowest elevation with 350 metres above sea level is at the Orlík Dam.A big part of the Šumava National Park is situated in South Bohemia.


Districts of South Bohemia


České Budějovice District

Český Krumlov District

Jindřichův Hradec District

Písek District

Prachatice District

Strakonice District

Tábor District

Last Updated on Thursday, 19 February 2009 00:42