|STADTSCHLAINING (Varoszalonak, Vas): Burgenland|
See also Mattersdorf.
Alternate/former names of town or village: Hungarian: Varoszalonak, Vas. About 50 miles from Vienna in Burgenland, the present total town population is about 400 families with no Jews.
The earliest known Jewish community in town dates from the 15th century. The principal landmark of Stadtschlaining is a large castle from to the 13th century, now the site of the European University Center for Peace Studies. The formerly desecrated synagogue has been restored as a Peace Library. Schlaining (in Stadtschlaining-Hungarian name Varoszalonak) was one of the most powerful castles in the province. Emperor Frederick III presented it to the noble Andreas Baumkirchner in 1445. It later passed to the Batthyany Herrschaft. Dr. U. Illig who turned it into a museum, then saved much destruction in W.W.II, Today, it is an hotel and conference center as stated. Castle website: http://www.aspr.ac.at . The village of Stadtschlaining was unique in that it was a center for three faiths. The presence of such a strong castle as well as an "Antimony Works" (closed in 1990) in Stadtschlaining probably accounted for the large mixed population.
CEMETERY: The unlocked Jewish cemetery was restored as well. A beautiful granite gate entrance identifies it as a Jewish burial ground. Early Jewish presence can be traced to the 17th century when a synagogue was built. About 1848, Stadtschlaining had one of the larger Jewish settlements with Jews accounting for 40% of the population as part of Bezirk Felso-Eor, Vas Megye pre-1921. In 1873, it had 435 Roman Catholics, 586 Lutherans, 312 Jews and 76 Reformed. Altschlaining (now part of Stadtschlaining along with Drumling, Goberling and Neumarkt) had an additional 422 Catholics, 116 Lutherans and 7 Jews, all of whom worshipped in Stadtschlaining. Catholic and Lutheran records are available from the LDS as are Jewish records from 1841-1895 (LDS 0700744).